Microsoft suspends Windows 10 October 2018 Update due to data loss

Last updated October 9th, 2018

Microsoft has halted the rollout of the Windows 10 October 2018 Update due to major bugs experienced by users, including one that’s leading to the removal of certain user files which results in data loss if you do not have a backup.

October 2018 Update Screenshot

Users are no longer allowed to download the October 2018 Update from Windows Update and the update is on hold until the issues are resolved and tested.

John Cable from Microsoft reports “Last week we paused the rollout of the Windows 10 October 2018 Update (version 1809) for all users as we investigated isolated reports of users missing files after updating”.

Microsoft is currently recommends for users to not install the October 2018.

All your files are exactly where you left them

Update October 9th, 2018

Microsoft resumes Windows 10 October 2018 update after data loss complaints

John Cable from Microsoft reports “We have fully investigated all reports of data loss, identified and fixed all known issues in the update, and conducted internal validation.”

What was the issue?

Users lost files during the October 2018 update.

This occurred and caused problems if Known Folder Redirection (KFR) had been previously enabled, but files remain in the original “old” folder location vs being moved to the new, redirected location.

KFR is the process of redirecting the known folders of Windows including Desktop, Documents, Pictures, Screenshots, Videos, etc. from the default folder location, c:\users\username\<folder name>, to a new folder location. In previous feedback from the Windows 10 April 2018 Update, users with KFR reported an extra, empty copy of Known Folders on their device. Based on feedback from users, Microsoft introduced code in the October 2018 Update to remove these empty, duplicate known folders.

That change, combined with another change to the update construction sequence, resulted in the deletion of the original “old” folder locations and their content, leaving only the new “active” folder intact.

Let us hope “All your files are exactly where you left them”.